Skip to content
Australian Institute of Sport

People Development and Wellbeing

Beyond the Podium

The People Development and Wellbeing (PDW) team leads and supports the high performance sport system to attract and develop the best people, foster wellbeing and create cultures where people can learn, thrive and fulfil their potential.

The PDW team is made up of four streams:

Leadership and Culture 
To build capability within the high performance sport system by supporting the development of individual and collective leadership and holistic high performance cultures. Find out more here.

Coach Development 
To develop and lead a National High Performance Coach Development framework that articulates the role of AIS, the National Institute Network (NIN) and the National and State Sporting Organisations (NSOs and SSOs). Find out more here.

HP Workforce Planning and Strategy 
To support and guide high performance system partners to plan and manage their workforces, attract and retain highly capable talent, and to inform their workforce decision making through people data insights. You can contact the team via: hprecruitsupport@ausport.gov.au

Wellbeing and Engagement
To provide leadership, guidance and resources to the high performance system, focusing on mental health, community engagement and professional development.

Athlete Wellbeing and Engagement Key Contacts

First NameSurname Job TitleEmailPhone
Kate Beveridge Community Engagement Adviser kate.beveridge@ausport.gov.au-
Sonia BolandNational Wellbeing ManagerSonia.Boland@ausport.gov.au 
Nicole Burattin Mental Health Adviser nicole.burattin@ausport.gov.au-
Matt Butterworth Mental Health Manager matthew.butterworth@ausport.gov.au M: 0466 508 706
Matti Clements Director matti.clements@ausport.gov.au-
Alison Cooke Conduct and Professionalism Consultant Maternity Leave-
Gemma Cross Mental Health Adviser gemma.cross@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1016
Jayde De Bondt Engagement Lead (maternity leave)Jayde.deBondt@ausport.gov.au-
Bianca FermiNetwork Lead bianca.fermi@ausport.gov.au-
Rachel Gale Network Coordinator rachel.gale@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1190
M: 0466 639 878
Sara Heasly Career Development Adviser Sara.Heasly@ausport.gov.au-
Christine Higgisson Learning Pathways Consultantchristine.higgisson@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1020
Bronwyn Jonathan Professional Development Leadbronwyn.jonathan@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1417
M: 0402 296 881
Sarah Larkham Project Officer sarah.larkham@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1525
Anita PedranaMental Health CoordinatorAnita.Pedrana@ausport.gov.au-
Richard Redman Conduct and Professionalism Manager richard.redman@ausport.gov.au M: 0428 438 639
BekiSmithEngagement Advisorbeki.smith@ausport.gov.au-
Mary Spillane Mental Health Lead mary.spillane@ausport.gov.au P: 03 9080 3025
Adam Woolnough  Engagement Lead (secondment)adam.woolnough@ausport.gov.au M: 0410 549 559
National Sporting Organisation First NameSurname Email AddressPhone
Archery Australia Rhian  Bird  rhianbird@archery.org.au -
Athletics Australia Melanie
(Primary Contact)
Purkiss melanie.purkiss@athletics.org.au -
Athletics Australia Belinda  Creer belinda.creer@athletics.org.au 
Athletics Australia Eliza Stankovic-Mowle eliza.stankovic-mowle@athletics.org.au 
Basketball Australia Darren Smith darren.smith@australia.basketball -
Basketball Australia - Wheelchair Programs Ruth Trevallion (nee Owen-Evans) ruth.trevallion@australia.basketball -
Bowls Australia Samantha Cox scox@bowls.com.au -
Combat Sports Sarah Conlon sarah.conlon@combataus.com.au -
Cycling Australia Chris Lynch chris.lynch@auscycling.org.au -
Diving Australia Teri Crilly teri@diving.org.au -
Equestrian Australia Amanda Ross amanda.ross@equestrian.org.au -
Football Australia (Matilda’s only) Janet Drakos Janet.Drakos@footballaustralia.com.au -
Golf Australia Luke Mackey lukem@golf.org.au 0438 389 505
Gymnastics Australia Tracey Menzies tmenzies@gymnastics.org.au -
Hockey Australia Rohan McHugh rohan.mchugh@hockey.org.au -
Olympic Winter Institute of Australia Alana Rybicki alana.rybicki@owia.org 03 9686 2977
Paddle Australia Matt Murphy matt.murphy@paddle.org.au -
Paralympics Australia - Wheelchair Rugby Eloise Boyle Eloise.boyle@vis.org.au 0409 535 008
Rowing Australia Ruth Trevallion (nee Owen-Evans) rtrevallion@rowingaustralia.com.au -
Rowing AustraliaMargaretHamleymhamley@rowingaustralia.com.au 
Rugby Australia (Rugby 7s) Alisha Reber Alisha.Reber@rugby.com.au -
Shooting Australia Jane Altschwager jane.a@shootingaustralia.org -
Skate Australia Kat Williams kat.williams@skateaustralia.com.au 
Snow Australia Annie Geiger ageiger@snow.org.au 03 9696 2344
Snow Australia Daniel Josifovski djosifovski@snow.org.au -
Swimming Australia Ltd Linley
(Primary Contact)
Frame linley.frame@swimming.org.au -
Swimming Australia Ltd Jodie Henry jodie.henry@swimming.org.au -
Table tennis - Para Programs Pippa Temperley pippa.temperley@vis.org.au 
Triathlon AustraliaSarahRodersarah.roder@triathlon.org.au 
Volleyball Australia Jason Tutt j.tutt@volleyball.org.au 0431 333 213
Water Polo Australia Sharyn Arnold sharyn.arnold@waterpoloaustralia.com.au -
National Institute Network First NameSurname Contact EmailPhone
ACTASBenBishopben.bishop@act.gov.au 
NSWIS Anthony Quinn anthony.quinn@nswis.com.au 02 9763 0239
NSWIS Tom Livsey tom.livsey@nswis.com.au 02 9763 0203
NSWISMariannaBradley-Bowdenmarianna.bradley-bowden@nswis.com.au 
NTIS Michael Watkins michael.watkins@nt.gov.au -
QASMichelle MitchellMichelle.Mitchell@dtis.qld.gov.au 
QAS  Liz Hepple elizabeth.hepple@dtis.qld.gov.au 07 3708 7888
QAS Mia Vriens mia.vriens@dtis.qld.gov.au 07 3708 7853
QASAnnetteMooreannette.moore@dtis.qld.gov.au-
SASI Mark Gregory mark.gregory@sa.gov.au 08 8457 1414
SASI Alex McNaughton alex.mcnaughton@sa.gov.au -
TIS Stewart PitherStewart.Pither@tis.tas.gov.au-
VIS Leesa Gallard leesa.gallard@vis.org.au      
VIS Kim Graykim.gray@vis.org.au-
VISSarah Thompsonsarah.thompson@vis.org.au, 
VISPippa Temperleypippa.temperley@vis.org.au 
VIS EloiseBoyleEloise.boyle@vis.org.au 
VIS Mitch Gourley mitch.gourley@vis.org.au 
VISSam Waters sam.waters@vis.org.au 
VIS Stephanie Moorehousestephanie.moorhouse@vis.org.au 
WAIS Amanda Schonfeld amandaschonfeld@wais.org.au 08 9387 8166
WAISHayley
(AIS/QAS Intern)
Clarkhclark@wais.org.au-
WAISJemma Dessauvagiejdessauvagie@wais.org.au-
WAISGregHireghire@wais.org.au-
Return to top