Skip to content
Australian Institute of Sport

Athlete Wellbeing and Engagement

Beyond the Podium

The Athlete Wellbeing and Engagement team leads and supports every National Sporting Organisation (NSO) to create a culture whereby they can look after the people who have shown dedication and commitment to the sport and at the same time to collaborate, strive and achieve success together.

We aim to enable Australian athletes to learn, thrive and contribute to the community during their time in high-performance sport and life afterwards.

  • Engagement - Opportunities for athletes to engage with their local communities, grass roots sport and national charities.
  • Mental health - Access to the best practice mental health information and education and individualised psychology services
  • Career and education - Access to information, advice and face to face or online learning related to education, career mapping, professional development and work experience.
  • Personal development - Face to face or online learning related to wellbeing and personal growth.
  • Conduct and professionalism - Advice on managing integrity issues, guidance and support to navigate ethical decision making within the high performance environment, and provision of policies and procedures.

Athlete Wellbeing and Engagement Key Contacts

Title First NameSurname Job TitleEmailPhone
Ms Sharyn Arnold Conduct and Professionalism Adviser sharyn.arnold@sportaus.gov.au P: 02 6214 1918
Mr Josh Beaver Community Engagement Officer josh.beaver@ausport.gov.au P: 03 9080 3026
Mrs Rhian Bird Community Engagement Adviser rhian.bird@sportaus.gov.au P: 0423 882 264
Mr Matt Butterworth Mental Health Manager matthew.butterworth@sportaus.gov.au M: 0466 508 706
Ms Matti Clements Director matti.clements@sportaus.gov.au 
MrDavidCohenLearning and Development Adviserdavid.cohen@ausport.gov.auP: 02 6214 1925
Ms Alison Cooke Consultant - Conduct and Professionalism alison.cooke@ausport.gov.au M: 0400 469 697
Ms Gemma Cross Mental Health Adviser gemma.cross@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1016
Ms Pam Dyson Project Officer pam.dyson@ausport.gov.au P: 02 8097 2014
MsRachelGaleNetwork Coordinatorrachel.gale@sportaus.gov.auP: 02 6214 1190
M: 0466 639 878
Ms Christine Higgisson Personal Development Adviser christine.higgisson@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1020
Ms Ros Holding Career and Education Consultant ros.holding@sportaus.gov.au P: 03 9080 3005
MrJohnHutchinsonEducation Network Advisorjohn.hutchinson@ausport.gov.auM. 0435 283 516
Ms Bronwyn Jonathan Personal Development Consultant bronwyn.jonathan@sportaus.gov.au P: 02 6214 1417
M: 0402 296 881
Mr Daniel Josifovski Community Engagement Adviser daniel.josifovski@sportaus.gov.au P: 02 6214 1524
Ms Sarah Larkham Project Officer sarah.larkham@sportaus.gov.au P: 02 6214 1525
Mr Richard Redman Conduct and Professionalism Manager richard.redman@sportaus.gov.au M: 0428 438 639
Mr Joe Shirley Digital Solutions Officer joseph.shirley@sportaus.gov.au P: 02 6214 1918
Ms Mary Spillane Mental Health Advisor mary.spillane@ausport.gov.au P: 03 9080 3025
Mr Adam Woolnough Engagement (Community and Digital) Manager adam.woolnough@sportaus.gov.au M: 0410 549 559
National Sporting OrganisationTitle First NameSurname Email AddressPhone
Archery Australia Mrs Rhian Bird rhianbird@archery.org.au 0423882264
Athletics Australia MsMelaniePurkissmelanie.purkiss@athletics.org.au 
Australian Sailing      
Australian Paralympic Committee - Wheelchair Rugby Mrs Eloise Boyle lifetopiawelfare@gmail.com 0409 535 008
Basketball Australia MrDarrenSmithdarren.smith@australia.basketball 
Bowls Australia Ms Megan Fritsch mfritsch@bowls.com.au 
Combat Sports Ms Sarah Conlon sarah.conlon@ausport.gov.au 
Cycling Australia Mr Chris Lynch chris.lynch@cycling.org.au 
Diving Australia Ms Teri Crilly teri@diving.org.au 
Football Federation Australia Mr Jackson Kupke jackson.kupke@ffa.com.au 
Golf Australia Mr Luke Mackey lukem@golf.org.au 0438 389 505
Gymnastics Australia Ms Kim Gray kgray@gymnastics.org.au 
Hockey Australia Ms Holly Walters holly.walters@hockey.org.au  
Netball AustraliaMsBrigidWalshbrigid.walsh@netball.com 
Olympic Winter Institute of Australia Ms Alana Rybicki alana.rybicki@owia.org 03 9686 2977
Paddle Australia Mr Matt Murphy matt.murphy@paddle.org.au 
Rowing Australia Ms Bianca Fermi bfermi@rowingaustralia.com.au 
Rugby Australia (Rugby 7s) Ms Anika Lalic Anika.Lalic@rugby.com.au 
Snow Australia Ms Annie Geiger ageiger@snow.org.au 03 9696 2344
Shooting Australia Ms Sara Heasly sara.heasly@vis.org.au 
Softball Australia Ms Deidre Anderson dka22057@gmail.com 
Squash Australia Ms Sarah Roder sroder@squash.org.au 0417 316 574
Surfing Australia Ms Michelle Mitchell michelle@surfingaustralia.com 
Swimming Australia Ltd Ms Linley Frame linley.frame@swimming.org.au 
Triathlon Australia Mr Troy Baverstock troy.baverstock@nswis.com.au 0468 922 184
Volleyball Australia Mr Gearoid Towey gearoid.towey@volleyball.org.au 0431 333 213
Water Polo Australia Ms Sharyn Arnold sharyn.arnold@waterpoloaustralia.com.au
National Institute NetworkTitle First NameSurname Contact EmailPhone
ACTAS MsRuthOwen-Evansruth.owenevans@act.gov.au 
NSWIS Ms Claudia Masina claudia.masina@nswis.com.au 02 9763 0297
NSWIS Mr Anthony Quinn anthony.quinn@nswis.com.au 02 9763 0239
NSWISMrKenanGouadeckenan.gouadec@nswis.com.au02 9763 0244
NSWIS Mr Tom Livsey tom.livsey@nswis.com.au 02 9763 0203
NTIS Mr Michael Watkins michael.watkins@nt.gov.au  
QAS Mr Mark Knowles mark.knowles@npsr.qld.gov.au 07 3708 7818
QAS  Ms Liz Hepple elizabeth.hepple@npsr.qld.gov.au 07 3708 7888
QAS Ms Mia Vriens mia.vriens@npsr.qld.gov.au 07 3708 7853
QASMrJamesHenryjames.henry@npsr.qld.gov.au0400 229 981
SASI Mr Mark Gregory mark.gregory@sa.gov.au 08 8457 1414
SASI Mr Alex McNaughton alex.mcnaughton@sa.gov.au  
TIS Ms Lindsay Harris lindsay.harris@tis.tas.gov.au 
VIS Ms Leesa Gallard leesa.gallard@vis.org.au     03 9425 0062
VIS Ms Sara Heasly sara.heasly@vis.org.au 
VIS Ms Andrea Farrow andrea.farrow@vis.org.au 
VISMrDavidMadigandavid.madigan@vis.org.au 
WAIS Ms Amanda Schonfeld amandaschonfeld@wais.org.au 08 9387 8166
WAIS Mr Rohan McHugh rmchugh@wais.org.au 08 9387 8166
WAISMsHannahWatsonhwatson@wais.org.au08 9387 8166
Return to top