Skip to content
Australian Institute of Sport

People Wellbeing and Development

Beyond the Podium

The People Wellbeing and Development team leads and supports every National Sporting Organisation (NSO) to create a culture whereby they can look after the people who have shown dedication and commitment to the sport and at the same time to collaborate, strive and achieve success together.

We aim to enable Australian athletes to learn, thrive and contribute to the community during their time in high-performance sport and life afterwards.

  • Engagement - Opportunities for athletes to engage with their local communities, grass roots sport and national charities.
  • Mental health - Access to the best practice mental health information and education and individualised psychology services
  • Career and education - Access to information, advice and face to face or online learning related to education, career mapping, professional development and work experience.
  • Personal development - Face to face or online learning related to wellbeing and personal growth.
  • Conduct and professionalism - Advice on managing integrity issues, guidance and support to navigate ethical decision making within the high performance environment, and provision of policies and procedures.

Athlete Wellbeing and Engagement Key Contacts

First NameSurname Job TitleEmailPhone
Kate Beveridge Community Engagement Adviser kate.beveridge@ausport.gov.au-
Sonia BolandNational Wellbeing ManagerSonia.Boland@ausport.gov.au 
Nicole Burattin Mental Health Adviser nicole.burattin@ausport.gov.au-
Matt Butterworth Mental Health Manager matthew.butterworth@ausport.gov.au M: 0466 508 706
Matti Clements Director matti.clements@ausport.gov.au-
Alison Cooke Conduct and Professionalism Consultant Maternity Leave-
Gemma Cross Mental Health Adviser gemma.cross@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1016
Jayde De Bondt Engagement Lead (maternity leave)Jayde.deBondt@ausport.gov.au-
Bianca FermiNetwork Lead bianca.fermi@ausport.gov.au-
Rachel Gale Network Coordinator rachel.gale@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1190
M: 0466 639 878
Sara Heasly Career Development Adviser Sara.Heasly@ausport.gov.au-
Christine Higgisson Learning Pathways Consultantchristine.higgisson@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1020
Bronwyn Jonathan Professional Development Leadbronwyn.jonathan@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1417
M: 0402 296 881
Sarah Larkham Project Officer sarah.larkham@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1525
Anita PedranaMental Health CoordinatorAnita.Pedrana@ausport.gov.au-
Richard Redman Conduct and Professionalism Manager richard.redman@ausport.gov.au M: 0428 438 639
BekiSmithEngagement Advisorbeki.smith@ausport.gov.au-
Mary Spillane Mental Health Lead mary.spillane@ausport.gov.au P: 03 9080 3025
Adam Woolnough  Engagement Lead (secondment)adam.woolnough@ausport.gov.au M: 0410 549 559
National Sporting Organisation First NameSurname Email AddressPhone
Archery Australia Rhian  Bird  rhianbird@archery.org.au -
Athletics Australia Melanie
(Primary Contact)
Purkiss melanie.purkiss@athletics.org.au -
Athletics Australia Belinda  Creer belinda.creer@athletics.org.au 
Athletics Australia Eliza Stankovic-Mowle eliza.stankovic-mowle@athletics.org.au 
Basketball Australia Darren Smith darren.smith@australia.basketball -
Basketball Australia - Wheelchair Programs Ruth Trevallion (nee Owen-Evans) ruth.trevallion@australia.basketball -
Bowls Australia Samantha Cox scox@bowls.com.au -
Combat Sports Sarah Conlon sarah.conlon@combataus.com.au -
Cycling Australia Chris Lynch chris.lynch@auscycling.org.au -
Diving Australia Teri (Maternity Leave) Crilly teri@diving.org.au -
Diving Australia Sharyn Arnold sharyn.arnold@waterpoloaustralia.com.au 
Equestrian Australia Amanda Ross amanda.ross@equestrian.org.au -
Football Australia (Matilda’s only) Janet Drakos Janet.Drakos@footballaustralia.com.au -
Golf Australia Luke Mackey lukem@golf.org.au 0438 389 505
Gymnastics Australia Tracey Menzies tmenzies@gymnastics.org.au -
Hockey Australia Rohan McHugh rohan.mchugh@hockey.org.au -
Netball Australia Andrea Farrow Andrea.Farrow@netball.com.au -
Olympic Winter Institute of Australia Alana Rybicki alana.rybicki@owia.org 03 9686 2977
Paddle Australia Matt Murphy matt.murphy@paddle.org.au -
Paralympics Australia - Wheelchair Rugby Eloise Boyle Eloise.boyle@vis.org.au 0409 535 008
Rowing Australia Ruth Trevallion (nee Owen-Evans) rtrevallion@rowingaustralia.com.au -
Rugby Australia (Rugby 7s) Alisha Reber Alisha.Reber@rugby.com.au -
Shooting Australia Jane Altschwager jane.a@shootingaustralia.org -
Skate Australia Kat Williams kat.williams@skateaustralia.com.au 
Snow Australia Annie
(Maternity Leave)
Geiger ageiger@snow.org.au 03 9696 2344
Snow Australia Daniel Josifovski djosifovski@snow.org.au -
Softball Australia Deidre Anderson dka22057@gmail.com -
Squash Australia Sarah Roder sroder@squash.org.au 0417 316 574
Swimming Australia Ltd Linley
(Primary Contact)
Frame linley.frame@swimming.org.au -
Swimming Australia Ltd Jodie Henry jodie.henry@swimming.org.au -
Table tennis - Para Programs Pippa Temperley pippa.temperley@vis.gov.au 
Volleyball Australia Jason Tutt j.tutt@volleyball.org.au 0431 333 213
Water Polo Australia Sharyn Arnold sharyn.arnold@waterpoloaustralia.com.au -
National Institute Network First NameSurname Contact EmailPhone
NSWIS Anthony Quinn anthony.quinn@nswis.com.au 02 9763 0239
NSWIS Tom Livsey tom.livsey@nswis.com.au 02 9763 0203
NTIS Michael Watkins michael.watkins@nt.gov.au -
QASMichelle MitchellMichelle.Mitchell@dtis.qld.gov.au 
QAS  Liz Hepple elizabeth.hepple@dtis.qld.gov.au 07 3708 7888
QAS Mia Vriens mia.vriens@dtis.qld.gov.au 07 3708 7853
QASAnnetteMooreannette.moore@dtis.qld.gov.au-
SASI Mark Gregory mark.gregory@sa.gov.au 08 8457 1414
SASI Alex McNaughton alex.mcnaughton@sa.gov.au -
TIS Stewart PitherStewart.Pither@tis.tas.gov.au-
VIS Leesa Gallard leesa.gallard@vis.org.au      
VIS Kim Graykim.gray@vis.org.au-
VISDavidMadigandavid.madigan@vis.org.au-
VISSarah Thompsonsarah.thompson@vis.org.au, 
VISPippa Temperleypippa.temperley@vis.org.au 
VIS EloiseBoyleEloise.boyle@vis.org.au 
VIS Mitch Gourley mitch.gourley@vis.org.au 
WAIS Amanda Schonfeld amandaschonfeld@wais.org.au 08 9387 8166
WAISHayley
(AIS/QAS Intern)
Clarkhclark@wais.org.au-
WAISJemma Dessauvagiejdessauvagie@wais.org.au-
WAISGregHireghire@wais.org.au-
Return to top