Skip to content
Australian Institute of Sport

People Wellbeing and Development

Beyond the Podium

The People Wellbeing and Development team leads and supports every National Sporting Organisation (NSO) to create a culture whereby they can look after the people who have shown dedication and commitment to the sport and at the same time to collaborate, strive and achieve success together.

We aim to enable Australian athletes to learn, thrive and contribute to the community during their time in high-performance sport and life afterwards.

  • Engagement - Opportunities for athletes to engage with their local communities, grass roots sport and national charities.
  • Mental health - Access to the best practice mental health information and education and individualised psychology services
  • Career and education - Access to information, advice and face to face or online learning related to education, career mapping, professional development and work experience.
  • Personal development - Face to face or online learning related to wellbeing and personal growth.
  • Conduct and professionalism - Advice on managing integrity issues, guidance and support to navigate ethical decision making within the high performance environment, and provision of policies and procedures.

Athlete Wellbeing and Engagement Key Contacts

First NameSurname Job TitleEmailPhone
Sharyn Arnold Conduct and Professionalism Adviser sharyn.arnold@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1918
Kate Beveridge Community Engagement Adviser kate.beveridge@ausport.gov.au-
Nicole Burattin Mental Health Adviser nicole.burattin@ausport.gov.au-
Matt Butterworth Mental Health Manager matthew.butterworth@ausport.gov.au M: 0466 508 706
Matti Clements Director matti.clements@ausport.gov.au-
Alison Cooke Conduct and Professionalism Consultant Maternity Leave-
Gemma Cross Mental Health Adviser gemma.cross@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1016
Jayde De Bondt Engagement Lead Jayde.deBondt@ausport.gov.au-
Bianca FermiNetwork Lead bianca.fermi@ausport.gov.au-
Rachel Gale Network Coordinator rachel.gale@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1190
M: 0466 639 878
Sara Heasly Career Development Adviser Sara.Heasly@ausport.gov.au-
Christine Higgisson Professional Development Lead (Secondment) christine.higgisson@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1020
John Hutchinson Education Network Advisor john.hutchinson@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1584
M: 0435 283 516
Bronwyn Jonathan Professional Development Lead
 
Consultant (Secondment) - Women Leading Sport
bronwyn.jonathan@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1417
M: 0402 296 881
Sarah Larkham Project Officer sarah.larkham@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1525
Anita PedranaMental Health CoordinatorAnita.Pedrana@ausport.gov.au-
Richard Redman Conduct and Professionalism Manager richard.redman@ausport.gov.au M: 0428 438 639
Joe Shirley Digital Solutions Adviser joseph.shirley@ausport.gov.au P: 02 6214 1918
BekiSmithEngagement Advisorbeki.smith@ausport.gov.au-
Mary Spillane Mental Health Lead mary.spillane@ausport.gov.au P: 03 9080 3025
Adam Woolnough Wellbeing and Engagement Manager adam.woolnough@ausport.gov.au M: 0410 549 559
National Sporting Organisation First NameSurname Email AddressPhone
Archery AustraliaRhian (Maternity Leave)Bird rhianbird@archery.org.au-
Archery AustraliaPippa Temperleypippatemperley@archery.org.au-
Athletics Australia Melanie
(Primary Contact)
Purkiss melanie.purkiss@athletics.org.au-
Athletics Australia Leisel Jones leisel.jones@athletics.org.au-
Australian Sailing Ben Carbis Ben.Carbis@nswis.com.au-
Basketball Australia Darren Smith darren.smith@australia.basketball-
Basketball Australia - Wheelchair Programs Ruth Owen-Evans ruth.owenevans@act.gov.au-
Bowls AustraliaSamanthaCoxscox@bowls.com.au-
Combat Sports Sarah Conlon sarah.conlon@combataus.com.au-
Cycling Australia Chris Lynch chris.lynch@auscycling.org.au-
Cycling Australia - Para Programs Keren Faulkner

keren.faulkner@auscycling.org.au

-
Diving Australia Teri Crilly teri@diving.org.au-
Equestrian AustraliaAmandaRossamanda.ross@equestrian.org.au-
Football Australia (Matilda’s only) JanetDrakosJanet.Drakos@footballaustralia.com.au-
Golf Australia Luke Mackey lukem@golf.org.au 0438 389 505
Gymnastics Australia TraceyMenziestmenzies@gymnastics.org.au-
Hockey Australia Holly
(Maternity Leave)        
Walters holly.walters@hockey.org.au -
Hockey AustraliaRohan McHughrohan.mchugh@hockey.org.au-
Netball AustraliaAndreaFarrowAndrea.Farrow@netball.com.au-
Olympic Winter Institute of Australia Alana Rybicki alana.rybicki@owia.org 03 9686 2977
Paddle Australia Matt Murphy matt.murphy@paddle.org.au-
Paralympics Australia - Wheelchair Rugby Eloise Boyle lifetopiawelfare@gmail.com 0409 535 008
Rowing Australia Ben Carbis Ben.Carbis@nswis.com.au-
Rugby Australia (Rugby 7s) AlishaReberAlisha.Reber@rugby.com.au-
Shooting AustraliaJaneAltschwagerjane.a@shootingaustralia.org-
Snow Australia Annie
(Maternity Leave)
Geiger ageiger@snow.org.au 03 9696 2344
Snow AustraliaDanielJosifovskidjosifovski@snow.org.au-
Softball Australia Deidre Anderson dka22057@gmail.com-
Squash Australia Sarah Roder sroder@squash.org.au 0417 316 574
Swimming Australia Ltd Linley
(Primary Contact)
Frame linley.frame@swimming.org.au-
Swimming Australia Ltd Jodie Henry jodie.henry@swimming.org.au-
Triathlon Australia Kate Naess kate.naess@triathlon.org.au-
Volleyball Australia Jason Tuttj.tutt@volleyball.org.au 0431 333 213
Water Polo Australia Sharyn Arnold sharyn.arnold@waterpoloaustralia.com.au-
National Institute Network First NameSurname Contact EmailPhone
ACTAS RuthOwen-Evansruth.owenevans@act.gov.au-
NSWIS Anthony Quinn anthony.quinn@nswis.com.au 02 9763 0239
NSWIS Tom Livsey tom.livsey@nswis.com.au 02 9763 0203
NTIS Michael Watkins michael.watkins@nt.gov.au -
QAS  Liz Hepple elizabeth.hepple@npsr.qld.gov.au 07 3708 7888
QAS Mia Vriens mia.vriens@npsr.qld.gov.au 07 3708 7853
QASAnnetteMooreannette.moore@nprs.qld.gov.au-
QASCarlee
(AIS/QAS Intern)
Beattiecarlee.beattie@nprs.qld.gov.au-
SASI Mark Gregory mark.gregory@sa.gov.au 08 8457 1414
SASI Alex McNaughton alex.mcnaughton@sa.gov.au -
TIS Stewart PitherStewart.Pither@tis.tas.gov.au-
VIS Leesa Gallard leesa.gallard@vis.org.au     03 9425 0062
VIS Kim Graykim.gray@vis.org.au-
VISDavidMadigandavid.madigan@vis.org.au-
WAIS Amanda Schonfeld amandaschonfeld@wais.org.au 08 9387 8166
WAISHayley
(AIS/QAS Intern)
Clarkhclark@wais.org.au-
WAISJemma Dessauvagiejdessauvagie@wais.org.au-
WAISGregHireghire@wais.org.au-
Return to top