Skip to content

Connecting athletes with First Nations communities and helping them become advocates within their sport.

Share a Yarn Map

The AIS Share a Yarn Initiative presents the Share a Yarn Map as a resource for High-Performance sport; to facilitate learning, and a respect for the traditional owners of the land in which the system operates and athletes train and compete. The map aides connection to land, community, sport and one another, for performance and wellbeing outcomes.

The Share a Yarn Map, is an opportunity to highlight and encourage the power that sport has to promote reconciliation.

We would like to acknowledge the Australian Olympic Committee, Paralympics Australia and Commonwealth Games Australia for their support with this project.

Artwork by: Shaenice Allan 2020 (TOAC), Walking the Journey Through the Dreaming. Used with permission


Through programs like #ShareAYarn, we are committed to our reconciliation journey for all Australians. We recognise the outstanding contribution Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islanders have made, and continue to make to sport. We denounce racism in any form #InThisTogether.

Share a Yarn Map

Australian High Performance Sporting Facilities
High Performance Sporting FacilityState Share a Yarn Ambassadors Traditional Language, Social or Land GroupsProgramsRelationships
ACT Academy of Sport ACT   Ngunnawal   
Australian Institute of Sport ACT Beki Smith Ngunnawal AIS Share a Yarn Initiative TOAC, Murumittigar, Wanta Aboriginal Corporation, Tiwi Academy, Diamond Spirit, AIME Canberra
Basketball Australia Centre of Excellence ACT   Ngunnawal   
Netball Australia Diamonds Program ACT   Ngunnawal Diamond Spirit, Shooting Stars  
Rowing Australia Men's National Training Centre ACT   Ngunnawal   
Archery Australia Para-Program NSW   Dharug Nation, Eora   
Australian Sailing High Performance Facility NSW Rebecca Hancock Dharug Nation, Eora   
Australian Sports Commission Sydney Office NSW   Dharug Nation, Eora   
Diving Australia Sydney Performance Pillar NSW   Dharug Nation   
Football Federation Australia National Programs NSW Jada Whyman, Kyah Simon  Dharug Nation   
Future Matildas High Performance Training Centre NSW Jada Whyman Dharug Nation   
Jindabyne Sport and Recreation Centre NSW   Ngarigo   
New South Wales Institute of Sport NSW Emma Fessey, Rowena Meredith, Mitch Bullen, Amanda Reid, Rebecca Hancock, Amy Ridge, Mariah Williams Dharug Nation, Eora   Murama Healing Centre
Paddle Australia New South Wales Sprint Training Hub NSW   Kuring-gai   
Paddle Australia Slalom Centre of Excellence NSW   Dharug Nation   
Perisher Ski Resort NSW   Ngarigo   
Rowing Australia Women’s National Training Centre NSW Emma Fessey, Rowena Meredith Dharug Nation   
Shooting Australia Sydney International Shooting Centre NSW   Dharug Nation   
Softball Australia New South Wales Hub NSW   Dharug Nation, Eora   
Surfing Australia High Performance Centre NSW   Bundjalung   
Thredbo Ski Resort NSW   Ngarigo   
Northern Territory Institute of Sport NT   Larrakia   
Archery Australia Centre of Excellence QLD   Yuggera   
Diving Australia Brisbane Performance Pillar QLD   Yuggera   
Geoff Henke Olympic Winter Training Centre QLD   Yuggera   
Paddle Australia Sprint National Centre of ExcellenceQLD Bundjalung Jellurgal Aboriginal Cultural Centre
Pizzey Park QLD Katie Kelly Bundjalung   
Queensland Academy of Sport QLD Katie Kelly Yuggera   
Shooting Australia Brisbane International Shooting Centre QLD   Yuggera   
Triathlon Australia Gold Coast Performance Centre QLD Katie Kelly Bundjalung   
Australian Cycling Team SA Amanda Reid, Sarah Gigante Kaurna   
Beach Volleyball Centre of Excellence SA Chris McHugh Kaurna   
Diving Australia Adelaide Performance Pillar SA   Kaurna   
South Australia Sports Institute SA Chris McHugh, Michelle Wilson, Laura Hodges Kaurna   
Shooting Australia South Australia Target Rifle Centre SA   Kaurna   
Tasmanian Institute of Sport Launceston Campus TAS  Tyerrernotepanner   
Tasmanian Institute of Sport Hobart CampusTAS Nuonenne  
Athletics Australia High Performance Office VIC Beki Smith, Rhydian Cowley, Caitlin Sargent, Brad Hore Boonwurrung Raise the Bar Academy  
Australian Sports Commission Melbourne Office VIC   Boonwurrung   
Basketball Australia Head Office VIC Laura Hodges Woiworung   
Golf Australia High Performance Training Facility VIC   Boonwurrung   
Melbourne Sports Centre VIC   Boonwurrung   
Mount Buller Olympic Training Centre VIC Jonty O’Callaghan Taungurong   
O'Brien Icehouse VIC   Boonwurrung   
Shooting Australia Melbourne Gun Club VIC   Woiworung   
Softball Australia High Performance Hub VIC Janice Blackman Woiworung   
Taekwondo High Performance Hub VIC   Boonwurrung   
Victorian Institute of Sport VIC Jemima Montag, Gabrielle Coffey  Boonwurrung   
Diving Australia Perth Development Pillar WA   Wajuk   
Hockey Australia Centralised Training Program WA Brooke Peris, Mariah Williams, Renee Rockliff  Wajuk   
Western Australia Institute of Sport WA Brooke Peris, Brad Hore, Alex Winwood Wajuk Kit for Kids Program Wirrpanda Foundation
West Coast Fever Gold Netball CentreWA WajukShooting Stars

The information included in this map was sourced directly from National Sporting Organisations and the National Institute Network. All information pertaining to traditional social, language and land groups was sourced from the AIATSIS Map of Indigenous Australia. As stated by AISATSIS those social, language and land groups provided are general locations of larger groups, that may contain smaller groups or clans. Additionally, boundaries can be flexible and alternate spellings may exist.

The AIS thanks AIATSIS for their ongoing work in the community and for the resource provided in their Indigenous Land Map which continues to help educate many.

Contact us

The AIS recognises the ever changing environments and relationships that exist in high-performance sport and as such are aware of the need for the Share a Yarn map to be updated, with continued input and collaboration.

If you would like to make additions to the Share a Yarn Map, or request amendments, please email

Return to top